Home > Research

Researching Madness

E-mail Print PDF

The History of Madness in Canada/Histoire de la folie au Canada website collective is pleased to present our first cooperative research site.

Our collective is committed to the belief that history needs to find an expression and an audience outside the academy. The exhibits featured on these pages breathe life into this principle by accenting the importance of mental health history to all our lives, across a wide swath of human experience both past and present.

After the Asylum tells the story of the paradigm shift in twentieth-century mental health provision from overcrowded aging provincial facilities to a myriad of community settings – the group home, the drop-in, the clinic, and the street.  A series of creative and compelling exhibits, crafted by community and academic researchers, gives voice to the mental health service users, practitioners, policy-makers and bureaucrats whose lives intersected with this complex and often troubled history.

Involving more than twenty community and academic participants from across Canada, Britain and the United States, this work has been funded by two different grants from the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR).  Principal research investigators have included Megan J. Davies, Erika Dyck and Marie-Claude Thifault.  A special Histoire sociale/Social History issue is devoted to After the Asylum research.  Knowledge translation grants from CIHR, University of Victoria, York University, Thompson Rivers University and THEN/HiER (The History Education Network/Histoire et Éducation en Réseau) have allowed team members to take project research and create three innovative and engaging educational websites for secondary and post-secondary audiences: Caring Minds: Youth, Mental Health and Community; More for the Mind: Histories of Mental Health for the Classroom; and History in Practice: Community-Informed Mental Health Curriculum.

The History of Madness collective welcomes expressions of interest in other research submissions which will present the history of madness in Canada to academic, community, governmental, and international audiences.

Last Updated on Monday, 03 December 2012 11:36  

Projects

Home > Recherche

Recherche sur la Folie

Envoyer Imprimer PDF

Le collectif du site Histoire de la folie au Canada / History of Madness in Canada a le plaisir de présenter ici son premier site de recherche coopérative.

Notre collectif est intimement convaincu que l’histoire doit pouvoir s’exprimer et être entendue aussi hors du monde universitaire. Les expositions présentées dans ces pages incarnent ce principe et soulignent l’importance de l’histoire de la santé mentale dans les vies de chacun d’entre nous et à l’échelle de l’expérience humaine passée et présente.

Après l’asile raconte l’histoire du changement de paradigme qui s’est produit au XXe siècle dans le milieu des soins de santé mentale, lors de la transition entre des établissements provinciaux vieillissants et surpeuplés et la mise en place d’une panoplie d’arrangements communautaires : le foyer de groupe, le centre d’accueil, la clinique, la rue. Une série d’expositions créatives et fascinantes, montées par des chercheurs de la communauté ou du milieu universitaire, font entendre la voix des bénéficiaires, des praticiens, des décideurs et des bureaucrates dont la vie a été touchée par cette histoire complexe et souvent troublée.

Ce projet, auquel ont participé plus de vingt chercheurs communautaires et universitaires du Canada, de Grande-Bretagne et des États-Unis, a pu être financé par deux subventions distinctes des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC). Les chercheurs principaux ont été Megan J. Davies, Erika Dyck et Marie-Claude Thifault. Un numéro spécial de la revue Histoire Sociale / Social History est consacré au thème « Après l’asile ». Des subventions des IRSC, de l’Université de Victoria, de l’Université York et de l’Université Thompson Rivers ainsi que de HiER / THEN (Histoire et éducation en réseau / The History Education Network) pour l’application des connaissances ont permis à notre équipe de reprendre les résultats des recherches et de créer trois sites éducatifs novateurs et stimulants destinés à des publics du secondaire et du postsecondaire : Caring Minds: Youth, Mental Health and Community; More for the Mind: Histories of Mental Health for the Classroom; History in Practice: Community-Informed Mental Health Curriculum.

Le collectif de l’histoire de la folie accueillera volontiers toute manifestation d’intérêt concernant de nouvelles recherches servant à présenter l’histoire de la folie au Canada à un public universitaire, communautaire, gouvernemental ou international.

Mise à jour le Lundi, 03 Décembre 2012 11:36  

Projects